(i) Biblical Astrology of Libra Introduction

In this article we look at interpreting the Biblical Astrology of Libra as part of a complete series looking into the twelve zodiac signs and how they are represented in Biblical text.

In Hebrew this  constellation is called  Moznayim or “Balance” : 

Biblical Astrology of Libra

Looking at the relevant stars more closely :


Biblical Astrology of Libra


Zuben el Genubi = “the balance/purchase/price is deficient.” It is also the root from which the Hebrew word “stolen” is derived. = lower consciousness

Zuben el Chamali=  “the price which covers”, a word whose root comes into Hebrew as meaning “raiment” or “cloth.” = higher consciousness


The first lesson of Libra is to weigh the balance between the higher consciousness or spiritual life (Zuben el Genubi)

and the path of the world or lower consciousness (Zuben el Chamali). Once the choices have been weighed up and the spiritual path chosen it is time to move on to the first decan of Libra:

(ii) The Three Decans of Libra

The Three Decans of Libra are :

  1. Crux
  2. Lupus (the victim slain)
  3. Corona (crown)

Biblical Astrology of Libra



1. Crux The First Decan of Libra

Crux is the first sub-constellation of Libra:

Biblical Astrology of Libra


The price for our conflict between our higher and lower natures is fought on the Cross (Crux) where the crucifixion of the 5 senses takes place. This is what happens in meditation when we submit to our higher aspect and put down the thoughts and emotions.


2. Lupus The Second Decan of Libra

 Lupus = The Victim Slain

Lupus means ‘wolf’ and so the animal or lower nature within us needs to be slain to our higher consciousness.

Biblical Astrology of Libra


This is represented Biblically : 

John 10 : 12 But he that is an hireling, and not the shepherd, whose own the sheep are not, seeth the wolf coming, and leaveth the sheep, and fleeth: and the wolf catcheth them, and scattereth the sheep.

sheep = higher thoughts as they can be controlled, tamed, taught. = higher  consciousness

wolf = wild, difficult to tame and yet instinctive and predictable = lower consciousness

leaveth the sheep = our higher thoughts leave us when the lower desires (wolf) come calling.

we run from the wolf or animal nature. The sheep are our thoughts and so this verse is saying that we run from that which overwhelms us. Are thoughts (sheep ) are scattered by the ferocity of our desires (wolf) and so we run from that divine stillness inside.

wolf catcheth them = the world and its pull overwhelms us.

In the above image we can see the  animal slain.


The sacrifices and burnt offerings in the Bible were not mean to be physical sacrifices of animals which we may interpret it being looking at the diagram of the Slain wolf In the verse below we get clarification of these ‘burnt offerings’ :

Psalm 51 : 16 For thou desirest not sacrifice; else would I give it: thou delightest not in burnt offering.

Isaiah 1 :  11 To what purpose is the multitude of your sacrifices unto me? saith the LORD: I am full of the burnt offerings of rams, and the fat of fed beasts; and I delight not in the blood of bullocks, or of lambs, or of he goats.


Asedaton = the Arabic name for Lupus constellation and means ‘to be slain’.


When we look to who is capable of killing the lower nature within us consider :

John 1 : 43 The day following Jesus would go forth into Galilee, and findeth Philip, and saith unto him, Follow me.

Follow me = written in red letters in the King James Bible Online.


John 10 : 15 As the Father knoweth me, even so know I the Father: and I lay down my life for the sheep.

Jesus sacrificing the lower desires (wolf) for the spirit (sheep)


18 No man taketh it from me, but I lay it down of myself. I have power to lay it down, and I have power to take it again. This commandment have I received of my Father.

Only he can walk the spiritual path, no one has the power over him to make these choices.

The implication = only we can do the same. We have the power to walk our own journey or not, no one else can make these decisions for us.

In conclusion we must take responsibility of slaying the wolf within by submitting to the Christ Consciousness in meditation.


3. Corona The Third Decan of Libra

Psalm 132 : 18 His enemies will I clothe with shame: but upon himself shall his crown flourish.

Biblical Astrology of Libra

enemies = thoughts/ the mind

So when we weigh the balance and take from the upper scale we slay the mind and our higher centres open (crown chakra :

Biblical Astrology of Libra


(iii) Spiritual Journey from Virgo to Libra 

Looking at this series on the zodiac and the bible as an ‘evolution of the soul’ we can summarize the journey so far :

Virgo :

  1. Coma (Virgin Woman) = virgin consciousness in meditation free from bias of all thoughts residing in stillness. In virgin consciousness is born the seed Emmanuel which is our connection with the divine.

2. Certentauris ( The Despised) = This will be despised by religion and society by breaking with traditions. 

3. Boötes (Sickle) = he who comes to harvest the seed planted by God in meditation.



4.  Crux (Cross) = the balance is weighed and spiritual path chosen

5. Lupus ( Victim Slain) = lower nature (wolf) is killed

6. Corona (Crown) = higher consciousness is opened ( 1000 Petalled Lotus ).

(iv) Biblical Astrology of Libra Links

The video below is by Bill Donahue who explains the Biblical Astrology of Libra in his YouTube presentation.

5B Zodiac Sign Libra

Light and Sound Meditation


Biblical Astrology of Libra

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Social media & sharing icons powered by UltimatelySocial