(i) Seven Golden Candlesticks : Introduction

Seven Golden Candlesticks : In the book of revelations refers to ‘Nationsis used but these are an allegory for parts of ourselves and when they are imbalanced we have wars raging inside of us. The book does not set out to literally set one Nation against another. In this article we discuss the mystical significance of the Seven Golden Candlesticks in Revelations Chapter 2, verses one to seven of the Bible.


(ii) Seven Golden Candlesticks : Scripture Analysis

Revelation 2:1 Unto the angel of the church of Ephesus write; These things saith he that holdeth the seven stars in his right hand, who walketh in the midst of the seven golden candlesticks;



He that holds the 7 stars in his right hand = the right side represents our spiritual nature; the 7 stars refer to the 7 ancient planets of the solar system which are the macrocosm of the 7 chakras or 7 golden candlesticks in man (the macrocosm).

In Revelation 2 we have the church of Ephesus which represents the sacrum and it is associated with the planet Saturn. It is a symbol of anger and the zodiac constellation Capricorn is linked with it. It is linked to the lowest or Muldahara chakra:



The Chakra’s colour is red, the colour of Shakti. Shakti means energy, movement, awakening and development. Red symbolises awakening of the sleeping consciousness to active, alert consciousness. Awakening of the kundalini increases our vitality.

The Divine Serpent of Fire sleeps within this Church, coiled three and a half times and is the base from which the kundalini rises.

Revelation 2:2 I know thy works, and thy labour, and thy patience, and how thou canst not bear them which are evil: and thou hast tried them which say they are apostles, and are not, and hast found them liars:

There is lots of in-fighting here. This is the chakra of conflict and is the closest to our carnal nature. Through this Chakra it is said we rid ourselves of insecurity and therefore develop confidence and security.  This stability lays the foundations for our progression to a higher level of being. Conflicts can also result in the raising of the kundalini in that it can be used to increase our sexual desires or awaken ourselves spiritually. Tantric yoga attempts to reconcile the two.

Revelation 2: 3 And hast borne, and hast patience, and for my name’s sake hast laboured, and hast not fainted.

This refers to the works done in the name of God despite the great effort that is required. This may not be the most effective of works or may not have been undertaken with all of one’s heart and soul as clarified in Revelation 2:5

Mystically this is the home of the ‘spirit fire’ or kundalini. As the kundalini is woken there is a circular type energy which moves upward and finally lights the third eye. This circular energy is described in:

1st Kings 6 : 8 The door for the middle chamber was in the right side of the house: and they went up with winding stairs into the middle chamber, and out of the middle into the third.

This talks about the construction of the temple. The door to the holy place is put on the right side of the building (the spiritual side of us). Access is by a winding stairway or kundalini.



So the church of Ephesus is the foundation of our ‘inner temple’ this is the church of anger which is associated with religion. Most wars have some sort of religious connotations to them e.g. Ireland. So this is the lowest place to act from.

Revelation 2 : 4 Nevertheless I have somewhat against thee, because thou hast left thy first love.

The lower (Man) is a reflection of the higher (God); in other words the physical is a reflection of the divine. The goal is for both to be in harmony with each other and if we concentrate on the physical (the government) then we neglect the spiritual and we cannot have a completeness of life this way as we are excluding an entire side of who we are. So the physical is a reflection of the spiritual. If there is harmony within it will be reflected in our outer life, or at least that is the goal.

Left our first love = divine love has been replaced by human love

So this ‘church’ or chakra is the first step in the road on which we travel to get back to God.

Revelation 2: 5 Remember therefore from whence thou art fallen, and repent, and do the first works; or else I will come unto thee quickly, and will remove thy candlestick out of his place, except thou repent.

This means we have fallen from spirit into the lower nature.

Repent = meditate! We must make our way back to God. This is the cause of the many problems in the world as we do not recognise the peace and stillness that exists with profound meditation on the light and sound or other meditation technique.

Repent & do the first works = start your meditation and begin your spiritual journey in earnest. So this relates to seeking within yourself first before doing ‘external’ works.

Rapture = being taken from the lower to the higher state of consciousness & lifted up into the air which the third stage of consciousness in Greek.

Repent and change = change from taking from the lower nature and strive towards the higher.

Candlestick = the light will go out and we will reside in the darkness of the mind and all the stresses and anxieties that go with it. When we meditate and see blackness, the mind is too strong and blots out the spiritual light so we need to remain still for the light to enter our consciousness.

12 sympathetic nerve centres surround the spine = the 12 disciples surrounded Christ.

Jeremiah 1: 5 5 Before I formed thee in the belly I knew thee; and before thou camest forth out of the womb I sanctified thee, and I ordained thee a prophet unto the nations.

Our spirit which never ends has always existed and always will. This is the basis of the story of the prodigal son returning back to the father.

According to Ancient Masters true knowledge is derived in the recollection of the things in which God abides, so this in effect describes remembering who we are through meditation. We begin to see the cosmic self rather than the individual self.

Revelation 2: 6 But this thou hast, that thou hatest the deeds of the Nicolaitans, which I also hate.

Nickolations = were a sect that used the gospel and the freedom it gave as a licence to pervert the body to all kinds of things. It has been called phallic sorcery.

Revelation 2: 7 He that hath an ear, let him hear what the Spirit saith unto the churches; To him that overcometh will I give to eat of the tree of life, which is in the midst of the paradise of God.

To him that overcomes will give the tree of life = the seven seals will be opened up. A tree is always a symbol of life because you place a seed into the ground and in the darkness it grows into a tree. When we sit in the darkness of meditation spiritual light appears and we are able to move up the tree of life inside us and move up the 7 chakras of the spine. This is what is meant by us eating of the fruit of the tree of life. In meditation we can know states of universal love which are in effect our first love which we have forgotten and who we really are. Instead we are caught up in the ego of our personality and therefore controlled by the carnal nature which we have taken for being real.


(iii) Seven Golden Candlesticks Video Links

Revelations Full Playlist : Bill Donahue


Seven Golden Candlesticks

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Social media & sharing icons powered by UltimatelySocial